Zero 88 Betapack 2 User Manual

DaveHutton

I've just purchased a couple of Zero 88 Betapack 2 Dimmer Packs. I'm new to DMX (yes, you've guessed I'm an old git) and don't understand the 3 DMX address switches. I need a proper Owner's Manual. The only User Manuals I can find on-line are way short of telling me how to operate the damn things properly. Anyone know of an on-line source for what I want. I suppose I could go to the manufacturer in Cwmbran, but on-line is good if I can. Cheers.

I'm guessing the only thing you found online is the 4-page owners manual? That's, AFAIK, all there is.

Maybe try it out and then come back and ask some specific questions?

The switches set the DMX start address, it uses 6 consecutive channels starting with whatever you set.

The three switches are hundreds, tens, units and set the address between 1 and 512.

start address 001 would be 100s = 0, 10s = 0, 1s = 1

start address 245 would be 100s = 2, 10s = 4, 1s =5

etc

Thanks guys & gals? I am using them in a very conventional way , that is simply to dim lamps e.g. ParCans. I bought an ex-demo Behringer Eurolite LC2412 desk to hook up to them. The first one that arrived didn't work at all (no LEDs lit or the LCD screen). I sent it back and the next one was damaged (buttons broken and no Rackmount Rails). I have just sent that one back, so I guess I need to find an alternative or pay the price for a new one.

The desk is supposed to be capable of running a Smoke Machine with DMX facility. I have one. Where do I connect it to? Is it the Dimmer Pack or run back to the board. Clearly, I don't want to dim it! The LC2412 also has an Analogue output, which is why I chose it, because the Betapack 2s also do Analogue. The control output from the LC2412 is a 15 pin 'D' Sub Connector and the Packs have 8-pin locking Din Connectors, which I'm used to. Anyone know where I can get a 15-pin 'D' sub to 2 x 8 pin Din splitter, or do I have to make one up myself?