Starting out

strobe84

Hey guys. So I thought I'd jump on this forum as I'm thinking of getting out of the IT industry and starting a business providing lighting for weddings etc. I'm fairly "green" in terms of knowledge but I've got the basics and have done a couple of gigs for friends of mine but I've always had a keen interest in this game but somehow ended up down the IT route.... So given I'm a newb I thought I'd ask whether you beleive the business to be viable and secondly what equipment I should be starting out with? I have my eyes on some Martin mac 500's and some coemar wash movers at the moment!

Initially, you'll want to hire in your kit - the upfront cost of decent movers or LED fixtures is high, as are the maintenance costs, they're bulky to store in quantity, and in order to make use of them you also need to have distro, cable etc. Don't buy anything at this early stage - hire in what you need for each gig, and work on developing a good relationship with local hire companies. Your starting equipment should be a set of appropriate tools, spares and debugging kit. If you don't know what you'll need, you probably need to work more events as crew for someone else before striking out on your own.

As for whether it's viable, that depends hugely on the market in your area, and your contacts within it.

I am thinking of getting out of event lighting and into brain surgery. Anyone have any thoughts on which scalpels I should start out with? :)