Qlab and simple DMX lighting best 'simple' option

tomcoultas

Hi,

Im new so if this has been discussed 1000 times I'm sorry. I'm sadly leaving the great "PC Stage" software behind - I loved it as it could cue lighting, audio, images and video from the one program - great for a school. However, I find it too problematic projecting video at the right size for my school's drama space, in fact I spend 4 hours re-sizing a video to get it nearly right. As you can guess I'm not very technical for a drama teacher but I try my best. I have been advised to invest in Qlab for sound and video and to trigger lighting through DMX lighting software. then only problem is all the software I see is very complex and I'm after something simple that can create presets and chases but has maybe 60 channels (chromakinetics 24 channels are not enough for my LED lights) Is there a simple solution here? I only want to use MAC or PC (not both) I have a lighting desk.

Please keep simple DMX lighting software in mind

About my theatre set up:

* Small black box theatre located in a school

* DMX lighting set up.

* Rear projected cyclorama, single screen

* Want to run shows with video (one screen), audio (in stereo) and images asbackdrops.

* We will make audio in adobe audition, videos in movie maker or premiereelements, images in Photoshop (or just use jpegs)

Any advice would be appreciated.<br style="mso-special-character: line-break;">

Tom<br style="mso-special-character: line-break;">

What is your existing lighting desk? :)

If it supports MIDI to advance cues, qlab does support MIDI Output with the appropriate interface

As the OP says, he uses the excellent PCStage software which controls lighting, sound, video etc.

I use it for lighting and sound, not used it for video yet.

PCStage can output Midi so if Qlab can accept Midi in then it might be a solution.

Tom

Welcome to the forum.

Are you saying you are trying to resize video using PCStage?