Musician w/Projection Question

soapyrandolph

Hi Everyone,

I'm a musician hoping to use a small projector for a live solo show.

The idea is to project some footage directly on to me and whatever else is behind me (no screen behind) as I stand up and play guitar (from a portable projector titled up at me from the front of the stage).

I've tested this out with a bulky old projector at home, and it seems to work fine. The obvious problem I'm encountering is that the light gets too intense after standing there for a minute or two (i.e. it's blinding). I had the thought of using some kind of lighting gel or gentle to diffusor to mellow and blur the light from the projector. Clarity in the footage playing is not at all a priority. It's more about movement and color.

Has anyone ever tried this? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

This will be overseas, so I'm hoping to bring minimal equipment (maybe an iphone and a Pico projector).

Thanks!

I'd suggest just getting used to it. Diffuser in a light beam rarely reduces glare to the performer, and can make glasses users even worse as the diffused light picks out scratches in the lenses. You just need to develop the knack of not looking. If you think about it, theatre performers who live in a follow spot beam have to get used to not looking into the lens, and without the follow spot, there will be many beams of light aimed at them that do exactly what you describe. It gets better with practice. There are no lens additions that will cure it, apart from dimness and big colour shifts, which spoil the intention of the projection.

there are risks involved with staring in to projectors so my advice would be to avoid prolonged exposure even if it is a low powered device, after all, if you damage your eyesight with over exposure to UV light, you may regrest standing in front of a projector for long periods...

bbc info on projectors