IS LED ready to replace Tungsten in theatre lighting design?

Hi everyone,

I'm Katie and I'm in my last year of a Technical Theatre course and I have to complete a research project. With ETC revealing a brighter Lustr+ last week and Peter Mumford using more LED fixtures on Stephen Ward and King Kong, compared to other West End shows still operating with no LED, I thought I'd like to address how popular (or not, potentially) LED is becoming throughout theatre. I've spent four weeks researching around the subject (articles, practical studies, product specifications and company policies etc) and in this time I have also interviewed theatre professionals for case studies as qualitative research, I'm now at a stage where I'd like some quantitative results as well, and I have created a survey that can be found here:

http://edu.surveygizmo.com/s3/1580794/Is-LED-Ready-to-replace-Tungsten-in-Theatre-Lighting-Design

This survey is specifically for theatre, rather than live events or TV, and when I refer to LED it tends to refer to generic fixtures unless otherwise stated. Questions are set in that perfect world where no-one has to worry about a budget - but I am really keen to hear from people that don't mind being quoted in my paper about whether venues or shows with smaller budgets would choose LED (maybe for the longer term energy benefits, and flexibility for a smaller space) or steer clear of them altogether, (too expensive when there are plenty of generics that can still do the job). If anyone who does fill out the survey feels they have more of an opinion that they would like to express then feel free to email me using the email at the end of the survey, or comment on here. Alternatively if you think there was something I neglected to ask, I'd like to hear from you too.

If you have the time to spare, I'd really value your opinion, so far it's proved to be a really interesting topic of conversation!

Katie