MIDI to DMX conversion via Mac.

DickyT

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to lighting and after a fair number of hours of searching the internet, I though I would do the thing I should have done first - ask someone that knows what they're doing.

So, I'm building a show and I would like to sequence some lights from my audio software (cubase probably). So, I need to convert MIDI signals into DMX to trigger scenes/chases out through a USB dongle (any suggestions on which dongle would be a massive help,) to a couple of dimmers and washes.Nothing particularly fancy.

Now, I would preferably like to do this through a MacBook. The other option is to to use my MacBook for the audio and send midi signals out to a PC to trigger the lighting, but it would be awesome if it was just the MacBook (new generation 8 gb ram, flash hard drive and 2.6 duel core CPU).

I know there is hardware to do this simply, such as the NJD mdc, and chamsys have their own thing - but there must be a software solution?Would I HAVE to run MTC to sync?

Any help/questions are welcome.Richard

Yeah, I find hardware to be a common theme. But it's odd - it's just a bunch of binary signals being converted to some different binary signals, SURELY this can be accomplished with a computer?

Any recommendations on Mac compatible USB to DMX dongles? Does the Titan one or chamsys magicdmx work with Macs? Do they HAVE to be controlled with the product software?

Thanks again,Richard

Yeah, I find hardware to be a common theme. But it's odd - it's just a bunch of binary signals being converted to some different binary signals, SURELY this can be accomplished with a computer?

That's like saying translating from English to Japanese is just converting some vocal sounds into some different vocal sounds.

What I would suggest is instead of thinking of it in terms of 'converting MIDI to DMX' you are 'triggering lighting cues by a MIDI message' (even if that 'cue' is a single channel changing its intensity)