RF from smartphones causing damage to speaker components

Sailin Rulez

Hi all,

I would appreciate your thoughts on the possibility of RF from people's smartphones causing damage to the components within speakers.

A bit about me and my circumstances - I'm the soundie at my local church. I have a few years experience of sound engineering in musical theatre and gigs at uni but my technical knowledge is a bit lacking in places. I know enough to get by and fix most of the problems that come our way within the church but the more technical engineering side of sound tech stuff evades me. My church meets in a school hall with a capacity of around 200 people. We use the best stuff we can find within our rather meagre budget and have a set up with a couple of Mackie SRM350s for FOH and two SRM150s as foldback which just about do.

We managed to blow the HF driver in one of our 350s a few weeks ago by short circuiting it (school boy error on the part of one of the team) and someone dropped one of the 150s, causing it to die completely. We sent both back to the supplier for repair and when we got them back, they were accompanied by a warning saying the damage was mostly caused by RF interference from smartphones which has eroded the components within both speakers and that the dropping of the 150 and the shorting of the 350 were only minor factors in their subsequent damage. I was a bit confused by this as it's not damage I've come across of before. I know interference from phones is rather annoying with it's 'bip-bip-biiip' that can sometimes come through (which we've not had come through in our set-up) and is best avoided, I didn't know it could cause actual damage.