Lighting Design Degree?

Hello All.

I am sure there are hundreds of similar threads/questions already on this board. Some of which I have already read, however I decided to start my own so the helpful advice I receive can be specific to me.

I am 22, after I left school with A-Levels in Theatre Studies, Art and English Lit I started working at my local theatre, and with set design in my mind as something I would like to do, I asked the technical manager to show me the ropes (excuse the pun) of all elements involved in backstage.

I discovered I was really interested in lighting; I then did an internship in America and a lot of free work.

Lo and behold, nearly 4 years later I have a Level 2 diploma in Electrical and electronic engineering, I was a full time venue tech at a small rural 300 seater for 2 years, then a small amount of freelance work including corporate. Now I am assistant electrician at a medium sized receiving house.

I have always been happy with the fact that I avoided doing a degree and learnt on the job, but now I think that I would really like to learn all the intimate details and specifics of lights and lighting design, something I think I may need further education for. I am not expecting to suddenly become a lighting designer. I want to tour as a re-lighter, be freelance and one day be a chief electrician, but I also want to be able to design shows, and be excellent at it.

Therefore I come to you all to say, is this worth it? I may not be old but I am a touch past Uni time. And where would offer the best degree for what I want to do? And generally what do people think?

Thanks for your help!