USB DMX Interface

ben.suffolk

For a while now I have been wanting to use a good fully featured DMX desk for moving lights etc, but for a decent one they are very expensive (for an amateur as opposed to a professional I guess). As I am a software engineer (as opposed to lighting or sound, although I tinker with both) I figured a laptop would be the best way forward, but DMX devices for computers (usb) are either also expensive or not very good.

I still wanted to use faders, as I know in a live situation using a mouse or keys to fade lights is just not on, so I figured a cheap lighting desk and the ability to read DMX in was what's called for (although I also think now that Behringer have brought out cheap usb midi control surfaces, one of these would also do the trick)

So being keen on electronics it made sense for me to build one that did what I wanted, and I have now just finished writing and testing the firmware for it. It has the following important features, and a few others I have not listed :-

Send 1 DMX universe

Receive 1 DMX universe

Set start codes (Send and Receive)

Set last Send address (to up the frame rate, it does 512 channels at full 44 fps)

Only need set the channel values when they change (not constantly using computer resources)

Only receive changed values (again not using computer resources up)

Flash update via USB

Fully opto isolated (send & receive)

USB bus powered

On board DMX monitor for receiver, Frames per second, start address, last channel