FX playback with a strand 520i

James C

I'm opping a show over Christmas with a 520i, a desk which I have little experience of (I'm happy programming states with generics (I'm a gsx-baby, so not that different so far), and can get my head around scrollers with a bit of a think). I didn't plot the show, but had to do some mods tonight. For some reason the FXs that should start and stop in certain cues just didn't come in with the cue. The "F" and "f" start and stop commands appear next to the cue in the live screen, but didn't actually fire up the chases on "go", even though they had earlier in the day.

A more capable programmer appeared, waved his wand and made them re-appear, but couldn't tell me why they had stopped in the first place. This may not arise again, however if they disappear mid-show, I'd like to be able to bring them back online in a hurry (As it's panto-time in the main house, I doubt said technician will have time to run over to our box between cues to sort it!). Can someone explain, in relatively short words why they may have refused to playback when in the cue, and a likely remedy? I am resolved to learn the desk properly, but at a less time-sensitive point in the calendar.

Thanking you all in advance...

Hmm. Were you getting to the cues using the Go button, or the Cut button? Select a playback display which includes effects playbacks information, and keep an eye on what's being displayed there when you hit the cues which should trigger the effects. Does anything appear in the effects playbacks when you hit a cue with an effect macro attached?