What kind of spot?

dclholly

I'm a projectionist for a part-time community cinema. We often have guest speakers for Q&A sessions after a film and I have been asked to look into some improved lighting for these sessions. The speakers (normally 2 people) usually sit around a coffee table and I would like to highlight this area. We don't own the building which means I cannot change the existing lighting and cannot install anything permanent. In the projection room we have a spare projection window containing ordinary glass (roughly 25cms square). The distance from the projection room to the stage area is about 20-25 metres.

My idea is to have a spot, maybe on a stand so that it can be packed away when not in use, aimed through the window at the stage.

Can anyone give me some ideas of what is available that might fit the bill?

I have no experience of lighting, so any help in pointing me in the right direction would really be appreciated.

Paul

Well you could certainly fire a follow spot or other narrow angle profile through there, from the back, but the results would be hard and unflattering. Unless you can squeeze in some stands to give you a better angle, as in downwards, it will look pretty unpleasant - and for the people being interviewed, rather bright to the eyes, with the audience and light coming from the same rough area. A couple of tall stands either side would be much better, and with something like a small Fresnel on top, would look much nicer.

To light a 3 metre circle at 25 metres throw is a beam angle of less than 7 degrees. As paulears has said you could use a profile spot to do this, but you would need something like a Selecon Pacific 5.5->13 zoom or CCT Minuette 6->14. You might get away with a CCT Freedom ECO pebble convex at its narrowest beam of 9 degrees. The latter would give you a slightly softer light and you can use barndoors to limit the beam size. A couple of PAR56 cans on floor stands would give you a bit of upwards fill.