Flying of Half Black from Stage during performance

pbarnett88

I'm a Production Assistant on the Opera 'L'assedio di Calais' at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, where I'm currently a second year student.

One of the scenic elements that the designer has asked for is an 'Iris' upstage, which starts the show closed but as the show progresses gradually opens. We're fully able to create the top of the iris with a standard flying bar, however the bottom of the iris is causing a problem as we need to figure out a way for the iris (half black cloth) to descend to the stage safely. Obviously we can't simply use our counterweight flying system as this would mean an imbalance in the weights, especially dangerous as we have an extremely large chorus on stage throughout the opera.

The iris crosses the entire stage (16m) and is downstage of a cyclorama which is going to be lit up by the lighting dept, which means that our pick up points are very limited as the designer doesn't want anything infront of the cyclorama.

We have looked at the possibility of automation but because we aer a drama school have a limited budget to hire in equipment.

If anyone has any other ideas of ways in which we could go about rigging the iris and operating it safely, it'd be much appreciated.

Thanks guys.