What can you tell a beginning recording engineer?

superuser2

Hello everyone,

What wisdom and advice can you give to a kid who will soon be mixing some amateur recordings?

I have some basic knowledge of mixing, equalization, microphone types, and the like from a handful of school talent shows. Recently, my choir director was awarded a grant to buy an audio interface and a PC with Cubase (microphones will have to be acquired separately, and I don't know what they'll be yet). He has plans to start a songwriting club and allow any students interested to record. He's agreed to let me engineer some of those recordings.

Though I realize this is primarily a theater/live audio forum, it doesn't seem unlikely that someone here has experience in this field. Any tips, books, websites, forums, etc that might help me? Thanks for any suggestions.

Sound on Sound Magazine is without doubt the best source of recording info, the website has plenty of articles available on all sorts of subjects. They have separate sections for cubase, logic and the other mainstream recording systems.

Once you get your kit, you can start to play. The reality is that the software is pretty easy to get started with, but has lots of features you start to use as your skills get better. The real important parts are a decent soundcard or external sound device (there has been some chat on these only just recently) and a decent amp and monitor speakers. A room that has controlled acoustics is useful to, so you can really hear what it sounds like. I assume you are going to record choirs? So a decent stereo pair will be your goal - again, plenty of stuff on that here without going elsewhere. EQ and maybe some tweaked acoustics to cope with a poor recording space, or to add depth to a real one, and you are away.

If you have specifics once you get the kit, please ask again.

Paul

Hi.

I use CuBase, Protools, Logic. just a little question so that I could give a couple of tips.