Please help, answers needed to some SM based questions.

Hi!

I'm studying Drama in my second year at Exeter University, and am currently focussing on and researching into Stage Management, for a rather long essay I have to write. I am hoping to compare the different duties that Stage Managing entails, in relation to the type of theatre and production the Stage Manager is working in/for.

For this reason I would be eternally greatful if any Stage Managers out there could answer the following questions...

1) Was it your original intention to stage manage and have you worked in other technical departments, I.e lighting or sound, before stage managing?

2) How great is your knowlege of other technial theatre aspects?

3) What are the main positives and the main negatives of the job?

4) What, if any, are the major differences between working in different types of theatres, repertory theatres or Broadway/West End etc?

5) What, if any, are the major differences between working on an ametuer and a proffessional production?

6) What, if any, are the major differences between working on different types of performance, I.e musical, play, dance piece or concert?

7) What is the biggest obstacle you have had to overcome during your career, and how did you go about overcoming this problem?

It would be great if I could get a real variety of answers from Stage Managers everywhere, with as much detail as you have time to include, as this would really help me with my essay!!

Thanks so much,

Vicky Stickand.

1) No, I never planned on being a stage manager. I distinctly remember telling someone at the end of my first year at drama school that I didn't like stage management as I "didn't have the temperament for it." I've worked extensively in the lighting area, done a fair amount of floor electrics work, have been known to haul on a flying line and occasionally worked in the sound department.