Finding the ideal PC based controller w/MIDI support

Skumling

Hi!

I am new to Blue Room, but have read quite a bunch of posts around here, and find the answers to be really useful. Anyway, I have a question regarding choosing the right light controlling application. My situation is that I'm a keyboard player in a small band who uses MIDI-based backing to support our music.

Our lighting rig has until recently consisted of 8x par56 w/500W raylight and 4x Martin RoboColor IIx and sometimes 3x RGB "colorwash" (3 ch. DMX fixture with 3x 575W lamps) for lighting the backdrop. Par-cans on a 6-channel dimmer and then everything controlled using a Martin 2518. In the 2518 I've made around 30 scenes for different purposes. The scenes serve different purposes - some scenes with more light on the guitarist, some with more light on the lead singer, some with more light on me, some with light on everybody but only one specifik color, and then solo-scenes only with one (white) par-can lit on one band-member. I think you get the picture :D

The 2518 I then control using MIDI, and only using MIDI. I have got a small controller from which I manually can changes scenes, or in songs running with sequenced MIDI-backing, the sequencer automagically changes to the appropriate scenes during the show. Works great!

My "problem" now is that as we play bigger and bigger gigs and because I'm bit of a gear-freak, I want to expand our rig with the possibility of using moving lights. In fact I've already bought 4x Mac250's second hand. The 2518 isn't suited for controlling these units at all, and I obviously need another controller to do the job.

I've looked at some of the free software controllers (DMXControl, PCStage, MagicQ), but I find it difficult to get an overview and find out if the programs can do what I need it to. Therefore, I'm looking for you guys to give an advice.