Help with purchasing lighting equipment! (Newbie!)

RedYoshi

Hi All,

I've been floating around blueroom forums for awhile and found the site very useful!

Ok a bit of background info, and I hope someone can guide me in the right direction!

Basically, I'm a sound engineer.

I work in a local theatre as a part-time hobby.

the local theatre has very old lighting equipment

Lots of groups come in, be it dance, plays, concerts etc... and would like 'better lighting' rather than just a big flood wash of yellowy-red!

I was thinking if I bought a few nice par can's, maybe a few floor par's - we could create some nice designs and textures! (and also hire them out!)

I would also like to use the lights purchased to be used in smaller venues/village halls etc...

So, the questions are:

What sort of fixtures would you recommend? Currently I have been looking at some nice STAIRVILLE PAR 64's

I will require dimmers for the village hall events - what will I require? Also will I require these dimmers in the theatre? I presume I will?

I need a nice little desk, that will save cues (for plays etc...)

I'm thinking around 8 par can's and maybe 4 floor par's (depending if money left in budget...)

I have around £1000 budget to purchase all the equipment required.

That aside, I am very interested in the LED par's on the market. Mainly for their low power and longer life-span. However I'm put off because they seem more complex than standard par's. And it seems I will require a high spec or 'bigger' desk to control them.

Would LED Par's be a better alternative? I know they're more expensive to purchase first-off, but cheaper in the long-run?

Any help would be very grateful!

Thanks,

Sam

For the village hall type set up, I would recommend some fresnels, rather than a purely Par Can wash. There are some good deals in reconditioned/second hand equipment out there, and I have found you get much more for your money. Try AC Lighting or Used Lighting