Control console help needed

mike hayes

Hello all,

I’m new to the forum so I’d just like to say hello before I ask to pick your brains! I work as a volunteer for a smallish theatre lighting company and are thinking of investing in a lighting control console, however there are so many about and are quite expensive so was wondering if I could get your recommendations, comments and views. We are thinking of buying a Zero 88 Elara and were wondering if anyone could say whether or not this would be a good investment, if there is anything to be aware of or things it can/can’t do. Would it maybe worthwhile buying something maybe larger like a Pearl 2000 as we are beginning to perform in larger venues and will probably not be able to upgrade for a little while if we go ahead with the purchase of the Elara or something similar. Many thanks in advance for your help.

1) As a theatre group, it would be better to look at the Alcora rather than the Elara, as the Elara is primarily intended for "live" use, whereas the Alcora is for theatre-style use. They are both very basic, so if your budget can stretch, get something bigger.

2) The Pearl is almost to the opposite extreme to the Elara. For theatre work on a small scale it is overkill, unless you plan to use mainly automated lighting rigs. Some people like the Avo "theatre stack", but I personally don't.

Strand desks seem to be popular, although my favourite 500-series may be out of your price range. The 300-series is smaller but again, personally I don't like the configurations.

As an ETC Express user I obviously would recommend ETC desks... have a look at their basic range. Also, Zero 88 do quite a good range of desks at a reasonable price point, namely the much-talked-about Frog range. Whatever happens, I would look slightly higher than the Alcora/Elara unless you want VERY basic.

P.

Hello all,