Studio Manager and 01V96 V2

Wrhector

I am trying to connect a Yamaha 01V96 V2 to Studio Manager on a PC. I have tried 2 different version of the software; one on the disk which came with it and the latest version off their site. I have also tried on several PC's; both XP (not x64). Also this is my first time with digital mixers (Doesn't help <_< )

I plug it in; windows pops up and I install drivers; reboot. I open up studio manager, Select the desk on the first tab; go to the midi tab and there are a whole load of channels there.

Now this seems too simple just to open it up and it to work; because it doesn't.

Do I have to change something on the desk? I went into some settings and changed the studio manager to USB and tried changing the console id (updating the Studio Manager as well).

When I Right click, synchronize it just waits for a moment and says failed.

I am sure that there is a step I am missing; the software and the desk instruction manuals seem unclear on the topic, and I have read through it several times.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Or state the obvious :welcome:

Thanks.

Ive never done it with an 01V96, I think its a bit different with the LS9's M7CL's etc as you have to use DME-N drivers but google found this....

http://www2.yamaha.co.jp/manual/pdf/pa/eng...rs/DM1000E2.pdf

Hmm, as I remember when I went into system setup nothing was available in the drop down for selecting the input and output. I'm not at the desk right now but will be in an hour or so; there is no Internet on it.

I don't have to change anything on the console do I?

On the 01V96 you have to manually select ports on both the console and the computer.

On the mixer, find the "MIDI to Host Setup Menu" and select "USB 1 1" (if you're using USB, otherwise serial or whatever).

Make sure you install the Yamaha USB driver on your PC as well as the Studio Manager itself. Once you have this, the Yamaha USB driver should be a selectable in the drop down menu.