Blue Room technical forum: Heads Up! Latest Scam Letter - Blue Room technical forum

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Heads Up! Latest Scam Letter

#1 User is offline   Brian 

  • King of the Voodoo Lounge, now with added red carpet.
  • Group: Regular Members
  • Posts: 5,441
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Cambridgeshire

Posted 08 March 2012 - 09:24 AM

Just received a 'database update' form for the 'Industry and Commerce Register of Business Information' from a company in Spain.

It's the usual thing - if you return it the small print say you agree to pay then 997 euros.

Interestingly my phone number on it is completely wrong. I wonder if that's deliberate? If anyone else gets one it might be interesting to see how many of them contain the right details.
This forum helps those who help themselves.

Bozone (n): The substance surrounding stupid people that stops bright ideas from penetrating.
"Am I dreaming this?" "No, and you ain't in Kansas neither."

#2 User is offline   rossmck 

  • Technical Manager
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Regular Members
  • Posts: 803
  • Joined: 04-May 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow

Posted 08 March 2012 - 02:10 PM

Oh, they're at it again aren't they... didn't work out too well for them in Australia - http://www.accc.gov..../fromItemId/142

Assuming they're just going through the Companies House list I'll keep an eye out for my inevitable scam letter and see if any details are 'deliberately wrong' ;)

#3 User is offline   Adam L F 

  • Regular
  • Pip
  • Group: Regular Members
  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: 30-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Watford

Posted 08 March 2012 - 03:53 PM

Interesting....

Thankfully I don't get these kind of E-Mails, if I did, I'd probably ignore it straight away. If people do really need to get in contact, either from a company or a personal friend, a phone call is the best way forward!
Adam La Femina
Lighting Technician
E: adam@adamlafemina.co.uk
W: www.adamlafemina.co.uk
@AdamLukePaul

#4 User is offline   Brian 

  • King of the Voodoo Lounge, now with added red carpet.
  • Group: Regular Members
  • Posts: 5,441
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Cambridgeshire

Posted 08 March 2012 - 04:20 PM

Not an email but a real (paper) (through the post) official looking letter.
This forum helps those who help themselves.

Bozone (n): The substance surrounding stupid people that stops bright ideas from penetrating.
"Am I dreaming this?" "No, and you ain't in Kansas neither."

#5 User is offline   Adam L F 

  • Regular
  • Pip
  • Group: Regular Members
  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: 30-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Watford

Posted 08 March 2012 - 04:23 PM

Ah, well out the window goes my reply! :P
Adam La Femina
Lighting Technician
E: adam@adamlafemina.co.uk
W: www.adamlafemina.co.uk
@AdamLukePaul

#6 User is offline   Wol 

  • Chief
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Regular Members
  • Posts: 667
  • Joined: 28-December 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted 09 March 2012 - 01:38 PM

View PostAdam L F, on 08 March 2012 - 04:23 PM, said:

Ah, well out the window goes my reply! :P


And its probably *because* of your sort of reply that they're doing this via post anyway. Too many people will think something like "oh, scams are usually done via email so this has got to be legit". The thing with email scams is that its easy to get email addresses, but harder to get postal ones to tie up with a person.

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic