Wysiwyg VS Capture

numberwrong

Hi,

I currently use Wysiwyg report and was going to upgrade todesign to ‘Design’ so I can produce renderings and work in 3d.

That is until I had a look at Cast’s Capture.

The general consensus seems to be that Wyg is better atrendering and creating paper work but more expensive. I’ve had a good look atthe Capture demo and I really like the plot style much more than wyg. It seemsmuch more intuitive in general. Also I think the paperwork and reports actually look pretty good.

Does anyone have any tips or caveats that I should be awareof if planning on switching to Capture? Is the intuitiveness of Capture at theexpense of power/features?

I need software that can primarily produce plots and reportsand do the odd rendering.

I should addthat I feel pretty competent at Wig but I’m self-taught so some of my grievanceswith Wig could be my inexperience that I could rectify with some training. Wyg does seempretty clunky to me and some of the so called advantages like producingpaperwork I often export to excel and do it myself instead if using the builtin features.

Youropinions appreciated ?

Not sure intuitive is the first word that leaps to mind regarding the Capture UI. It takes some getting used to if you come from a CAD background. Capture can be fast and you can get results and vis pretty quickly. Its not really a CAD package in the traditional sense.

Paperwork is OK and functional for plans and lists etc. I still like to use spreadsheets for stuff too.

I think Capture is good value for money and that WYG is costly and overkill for many users.

Don't expect a magic bullet, whatever you choose.